Problem Gambling Network of Ohio

Ohio Gambling Treatment Fellowship


The Ohio Gambling Treatment Fellowship Program (Fellowship) is an intensive yearlong, forty-hour educational and supervisory program for clinicians certified in gambling disorder treatment. The goals of the program are to prepare clinicians in providing gambling treatment services, aiding private practitioners and community agencies in improving gambling treatment services, professional development, and strengthening Ohio’s workforce. This includes skills such as the ability to provide clinical treatment in-person, telephonically and virtually, to serve as a trainer on gambling treatment topics, and to serve as a resource regionally and statewide on gambling treatment.

The Fellowship is comprised of training, clinical consultation, project planning, implementation and evaluation, and professional development. The program concludes with fellows providing a project or research presentation. Project examples include but are not limited to: implementing evidence-based gambling screens at an agency, improving problem gambling assessments at an agency where they are already occurring, outlining a problem gambling group manual, literature review on a specific at-risk population or co-morbidity, etc.

The Fellowship began in FY2016 and has graduated 31 Fellows over six classes. Cincinnati, Dayton, and Akron areas. The Fellowship often includes Fellowship Alumni as guest speakers and presenters, making the program cyclical in nature. Dr. Heather A. Chapman, Ph.D., ICGC-II, BACC helped incept the program, working as the Fellowship Facilitator for many years. Dr. Chapman continues to serve PGNO in numerous capacities, including overseeing the Gambling Counselor Supervision Program and the Advanced Gambling Treatment Fellowship.

Mike Rosen, LPCC-S

Fellowship Facilitator: Mike Rosen, LPCC-S

Mike serves as an Independent Addictions Counselor at Sunrise Treatment Centers. Since 2011, he has provided supervision and clinical direction to the counseling department and its support team. His efforts assure that quality clinical care is guided by “Best Practices” principles and that the counseling staff is operating in accordance with OhioMHAS guidelines.


Fellowship Alumni

Class of 2016
  • Joshua Francis - Dayton
  • Scott Knapp - Cleveland
  • Mike Rosen - Cincinnati
  • Marilyn Rule - Toledo
  • Bryan Traband – Cleveland
Class of 2017
  • Lisa Foisel - Cleveland
  • Maria Garner - Columbus
  • Beth Logan Batzer - Columbus
  • Katie Shaw-Jones - Cincinnati
  • Alicia Snyder - Cleveland
  • Lou Weigele – Cleveland
Class of 2018
  • Gary Gonnella - Dayton
  • Maggie Hyland - Cleveland
  • Bruce Jones - Columbus
  • Steve Kapela - Toledo
  • Diana Padrutt - Springfield
  • Amanda Ross – Cleveland
Class of 2019
  • Ken Buzzelli - Cleveland
  • Kierstyn Crawford - Dayton
  • Katrina Holt - Cleveland
  • Ken Holt - Cleveland
  • Rhonda Norman - Cincinnati
  • Les Waite – Cleveland
Class of 2020
  • Megan Cunningham - Toledo
  • Nan Franks - Cincinnati
  • Kasey McCormack - Cleveland
  • Bill Newberry – Kent
Class of 2021
  • Kelly Garza – Toledo
  • Krystal Gesicki – Medina
  • Jesse Wodrig – Ashtabula
  • Nicole Varkonda – Plymouth
Problem Gambling Network of Ohio
355 E. Campus View Blvd., Suite 285
Columbus, Ohio 43235

© Problem Gambling Network of Ohio 2022

Crafted by Firespring